The Adventure Begins

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. — Confucius


I just sent a check to a guy I’ve never met to buy a car I’ve never seen. If the seller is really a swindler and not the well-intentioned biodiesel researcher/father/surfer/California renaissance man I was entrusting, I do hope in the least he possesses the biodiesel Land Cruiser I think I’m buying and that he spends my money wisely in a long road trip to a fantastic place. Barring that, I’m hoping to be in the driver’s seat myself on Friday the 5th. To say I’m excited would be an understatement. I feel as though I’m starting a new romantic relationship, which I guess in some form I am. There is romance with this vehicle and I realized quickly that there were emotions and symbols and needs and story fueling this purchase. It seemed, without even driving it, this vehicle was already taking me places I needed to go.

I’d been looking for a car for ages but hadn’t found myself willing to throw what I had toward anything I really wanted. I almost bought a Subaru Outback XT. It’s an awd wagon with a tuned-down version of the near rally spec STI engine so it’s all race car cool and quiet and smooth and well, somehow not quite right. I stared at its projector beam headlights and thought, “I wouldn’t want to have to replace one of those.” It got about 19mpg in town which seemed abominable given how small it was. I also feared the inevitable temptation to put its turbo and its 260ish hp to work one too many times and finding myself dealing with the red lights behind and the quick boost to my insurance premiums. The third generation Toyota 4runner was another candidate but its low mpg ratings and inevitable high mileage/price combinations weren’t that inspiring either. With budget I had, my choices weren’t vast but the purely practical/rational mind (if there were such a thing) probably would have put me in some kind of late model Toyota or Honda, say a nice little Civic or Corolla with low miles and a benign original owner.

But there was a piece of me that didn’t want any of those things or even newer, shinier things well above my budget. And that’s the piece of me that wanted what I couldn’t yet imagine. And this is where it all became personal, emotional. I had some deeper needs beyond resolving my desire to get myself and some of my stuff from A to B. I wanted a different kind of relationship. I wanted a conscious relationship with a vehicle that affirmed my positive views of technology and reduced the aspects I didn’t like. I wanted something that honored my interests in self-sufficiency, repairability, durability, fuel efficiency, practicality, all-terrain capability and preferably a vehicle that offered some aesthetic charm. I also really wanted to have a vehicle that could run on non-petroleum based fuels. I wanted something, I suppose, different.

Enter 1985 BJ60 diesel Land Cruiser.

I had considered the imported-to-Canada-only diesel Land Cruiser before and occasionally looked at rusted hulks on craigslist in Vancouver or Calgary and wondered about the strength of my dedication to the idea when it involved getting up there, going through the importation hoops and all of that kind of thing. So when I found one in California on craigslist the other day and then bought it on ebay the next,  it seemed like I’d already embarked on a great adventure.

I used to write and spend a lot of energy talking about and worrying about what I was doing as a “writer.” I quit writing professionally which had never really been getting me to where I wanted to go as it was. I quit referring to myself as a “writer” because I really wasn’t one in the way I needed to be. And then I pretty much quit writing altogether. By then, I really wasn’t a writer at all.

In previous eras, I had high-paid gigs with glossy magazines and high-powered advertising projects but they were a bit like that shiny turbo Outback I almost purchased. Lacking some necessary grit and heart perhaps. All just kind of nice, but not right for me. It had been years since people had encouraged me to write or that I heard the phrase, “You should be a writer.” Those voices have come back and as I found myself wondering, questioning and opening so much on the eve of this vehicle transfer I decided to start this blog experiment.

Like my new relationship with the Land Cruiser, I don’t know where it’s going to go. I hope that the Land Cruiser is a functional daily driver that changes my relationship to technology, to our petroleum economy and that it is a vehicle that takes me to a lot of fantastic places I want to go. I hope it becomes an outreach tool and a point of conversation with strangers, leading to curbside chats about biofuel, the ecological footprint of maintaining earnest, well engineered machines. I hope it helps me get out into the world more. I hope it gets me to think more about what I’m doing with myself on this planet. And I hope the blog becomes a place where I feel comfortable enough to write about things I want to write about so that people say again, “yeah, you really should be a writer.”

But almost more so, I hope it inspires and educates and prompts some decent thought and discussion for others on how we lead our lives, what kinds of relationships we choose and what we do with our time on planet Earth. I hope I can learn about how to keep a 25 year old truck alive and functional and talk about how that feels and what it demands. You know, educate if i dare say. I hope to learn a ton about biodiesel – all of its ups and downs — and to share that with others.

I just want to share this experience because I think it’s going to be a good one and right now it feels really good. Maybe I’ll check in on Friday when I’m either driving away with a shit eating grin, or standing at the San Jose Airport like some guy in a really bad version of Punk’d.

Viva!

— twb

6 Responses to “The Adventure Begins”

  1. I think I am in love with this car as well.

  2. I would kill for high paid gigs in glossy magazines, kill! If you can talk girl talk as well as you talk car talk than I am all ears. Give us the good stuff so that we can live vicariously through you.

    Happy Blogging!

  3. Keep on keeping on .. I’m forwarding this to my dad . He’s working on sustainabilty in Arizona . He built himself a solor powered bike trailer that powers sound and lights to musical concerts . I just know he’ll love this .

    Peace

  4. I loved this blog, and I understand the “special” relationship with a vehicle. When I was a free spirited single gal, always looking for the next adventure, I bought my ’73 Ford Bronco. I was in Billings, MTz on location for a film. When I drove it back to my home in Santa Fe it was going to replace the only other car I’d ever owned, which I bought from my grandpa for $500, a ’75 Mercury Comet. Gramps had left his tools in the trunk for me and my dad taught me how to change a tire and check the oil. I believe in taking care of the things I own, it’s respect I learned it from my parents and they theirs. I sold it for $1,000. Over the next 18 years the Bronco never let me down. Jan 12th last year someone stole it from the front of our new house. I was devastated. It wasn’t just the ride, I missed how it smelled, the sound of the engine, how hard I had to hold the brake pedal down because she was always raring to go. And it was all the beautiful country roads we traveled and all the folks that road with me. I can’t even imagine if the Bronco would have been bio diesel too. That’s a whole new level of love. Congratulations!

  5. Well, he’s on his way out there somewhere on the Great Highway. Sent him off from Carmel Valley and the old rig seemed to tick away just fine…

    I notice that there is a conversion available for these rigs using a 3.0 International (but what’s in there is a 3.2, so?) and a Toyota 5 speed..In Van Nuys…might want to check them out it going in over the Grapevine doesn’t work up to expectations…

    http://www.overlandjournal.com/blog/?p=61

  6. I hear the metaphorical alignment with who you are becoming and the vehicle…
    hope to be introduced when you show up in Santa Fe!

    had some great memories of the Fiat that got me through a Fairbanks winter…yes, really….I drove it all the way to Denver where it died in a parking light behind a meditation center… that, too, was metaphorical…(a story worth telling, when we are sitting around a campfire!)

Leave a comment